Ovulation, Hay Fever, and Deployment Can Lead to a Little Periodic Frustration and Anger

A couple of days ago, I snapped at my husband for no apparent reason.  We were looking through listings of houses in MS from our respective ends of the earth.  All of a sudden, I got confrontational over some minor point that was not even important to the discussion.  I felt it as it was happening, but did nothing to soften my push.  We didn’t argue only because my very awesome and cool-headed husband didn’t engage me for long and simply acknowledged that we had gotten “off topic.”  We soon returned to the original discussion, but at that point, the mood had been soured.  So, we said our “I love you’s” and got off the phone. 

Later that night (the next morning for him – Kuwait is 7 hours ahead), he called me and we were back to normal.  He denies that there was ever any discord.  I don’t think he even really processed my sour mood.  But I did. Pesky hormones.  There’s definitely a cycle here that I have been following.

If you are a man (or my mom), this is where you should stop reading. 

What do ovulation, hay fever and deployment all have in common?

Nothing, but put them all together and they spell periodic frustration and anger.  Bear with me.

#1 Ovulation

A woman’s ovulation occurs when her egg is released from the ovarian follicle.  It occurs 14 days after the first day of her menstrual cycle.  On average a women’s sexual appetite is highest during ovulation. 

I was ovulating at some point between the middle of last week and over this past weekend.

#2 Hay Fever…

… the feverish desire to roll around with hubby in the hay.  These feelings had been compounding over the previous several days.  They actually peaked right around the time of our phone call that morning… and had abated by the time we spoke again later that evening.

#3 Deployment

My husband works hard everyday for our country’s peace and security.  I love him for that and I respect his position.  But, his call of duty also means that we are apart during intimate times of need.  This about our separation inevitably affects us both. 

1+2+3 = Periodic Frustration and Anger…

Unfortunately, a little periodic frustration and anger kind of goes with this territory.  They are normal feelings and can even be healthy as they are a reminder of what is important and what is missed.  They are a measure of both passion and fortitude. 

At the same time, however, they can trigger hormonal responses that are a manifestation of all of the above.  It can be enough to push me to mild confrontation during a call to discuss houses in MS.  In this way, my feelings had become displaced going from lusting to frustration to full-blown anger.

It is a cycle that is easy to read, but harder to dispel.  Now, in the next few days, my hormones will rebalance.  My hay feverishness will quiet.  And I will be my usual jovial self…. until this time next month. 

The good news is that this cycle is slated to finally end sometime in the middle of August…  and not soon enough. 

 WEDDED BLISS WEDNESDAYS discusses marital and relationship issues.  Although this is likely to be biased toward my own experiences in marriage and with relationships, I hope that you will join the discussion, ask questions, and suggest topics that you are interested in discussing.  If you like what you see here, please use the orange icon at the top right to receive my content updates by email or RSS reader.  

3 Comments

Filed under Marriage and Military, Marriage and Relationships, Wedded Bliss Wednesdays

3 responses to “Ovulation, Hay Fever, and Deployment Can Lead to a Little Periodic Frustration and Anger

  1. I can totally relate to #1 and #2. I get testy during both, and I can’t even imagine what that would be like combined with #3.

    I think that men will sometimes disregard our irritability, with good intentions, because they understand that there are underlying reasons for our moods that has nothing to do with them or the situation, and therefore, they don’t want to make the situation worse. If that makes sense. 🙂

    ~ Kristi

    • suprieta

      @Kristi – I think you are so right about men… sometimes they just know when to stand down and let us have our moments. Thank goodness for that!

  2. Pingback: Glimpse, Round Up and Tops « Aspire to Grace

Leave a Reply

