Why Subscribe?

Its funny how we can move along without doing something for so long and then all of a sudden we become enlightened one day. On that day, suddenly, we ask how is it that I could have lived for so long without doing ‘X.’

That’s how I feel about subscribing to websites.

For me, it happened very contextually. I was interested in a particular subject matter – personal finance. I started reading everything I could get my hands on dealing with personal finance. Then, I discovered the blog entitled My Dollar Plan and it kind of all fell into place from there. Soon, I was reading many other personal finance blogs, most of which had been referred from My Dollar Plan.

Then, never wanting to miss a My Dollar Plan update, I followed the directions on her website for subscribing. Soon, I was receiving updates by email and then I discovered the Google RSS reader.

Now, I am subscribed to over 40 blogs through my Google feed reader, and not just in the subject of personal finance, but also entrepreneurship, marriage and relationships, blogging, and technology.

With Google’s RSS reader, I can get as little as a want or as much as I want whenever I want. I can follow my favorite writers and participate in conversations between the writers and readers and among readers in the comments section. I feel good because I receive valuable content in the subjects in which I am interested.

At the same time, I am giving something back to the authors of these blogs in the way of my subscription to their website.

What does it mean to subscribe to a website?

These days, most websites offer the ability of readers to receive updates whenever the content on the site is updated. Websites ranging from larger news websites to the smallest weblogs often include such update tools, known as RSS (Rich Site Summary) feeds.

To an author or owner of the website, your subscription means you are interested in the site content. It means you are interested enough to want to follow updates on the site. In a lot of ways, a subscription is a high compliment to the content author and is a confirmation that the site is offering valuable content.

A site that attracts numerous subscribers can build on the content being provided by soliciting input from readers that frequent the site or receive regular updates. These readers are most vested in the content being provided on the site.

Why does it matter?

In many cases an author or owner of a site receives revenue from ad views or sales from the site. A website owner and advertisers may look to the subscriber count, among other statistics of the site, to determine the scope and reach of the website for purposes of revenue production.

Your subscription is positive feedback to the site. When you subscribe to a website, especially a blog, it matters to the author of the site because it shows a demand for the content provided. Sometimes subscription numbers are a demonstration of the success of a blog.

What does my subscription mean to the author of the website I am visiting?

Your subscription will inevitably mean many different things to different authors. But most will see it as a nod to the author or owner of a website. It often provides reassurance to the author that he or she should continue doing whatever it is he or she is doing.

How do I subscribe?

Most websites providing the option of subscribing offer the ability for a reader to subscribe by email or by RSS feed reader. The RSS feed icon looks like this:

317106639_d96433296a_m

 

 

Usually, the website will provide instructions on how to subscribe, which will include clicking on the icon and following the directions for completing your subscription.

In the case of email subscription, sometimes you will be sent an email to verify your request for a subscription to which you must respond in order to activate your subscription.

Subscribing to a feed reader is even simpler. Click on the icon and choose the reader to which you are subscribed and the feed burner will deliver the updates to all of the websites to which you are subscribed.

Here on Aspire to Grace, the RSS icon is at the top on the right side bar.  

How much does it cost to subscribe?

Nothing – its free!!!

Should I subscribe to Aspire to Grace?

Yes! If you enjoy the content on Aspire to Grace, please subscribe. I’d love to send you my updates and receive any feedback you have to offer!

TECHY TUESDAYS is a forum to discuss various technologies and web applications.  I am currently hosting a series of posts called “Building a Blog.”  This series discusses all of the things that I am doing to build this website.  I will also discuss tips and suggestions for building your blog based on my own progress, as well as feed back from others.  If you like what you see here, please use the orange icon at the top right to receive updates by email or RSS reader.  

add to del.icio.us :: Stumble It! :: post to facebook :: Digg it :: add to simpy :: seed the vine :: ::

Leave a comment

Filed under Blog Marketing, Building A Blog, Techy Tuesday

Leave a Reply

